Important Links

Gauhati University
Dibrugarh University
Tezpur University
IIT Guwahati
Directorate of Higher Education
University Grant Commission

Our History
The serious thought given by a group of leading citizens of Nalbari over the matter of not having an institution of Higher Education in Commerce in the entire North Bank of Brahmaputra, Assam facilitated to convene a public meeting on February 12, 1979 at Nalbari Sishu Niketan, Nalbari. Under the Chairmanship of Late Umakanta Sarma, the then Principal of Nalbari College, the meeting proposed to set up a new college of commerce education at Nalbari with Commerce and Arts Streams. After long discussion the meeting entrusted the responsibility upon late Surya Kumar Choudhury, Sri Pramode Ch. Chakrabarty, Sri Chiranjiv Jain, Sri Dharam Chand Jain, Sri Padam Kr. Jain and Md. Habibar Rahman as conveners, to convene a broad meeting in the purpose.

It was on March 8, 1979 a threadbare discussion took place in the meeting held under the Chairmanship of Prof. Ramani Barman, the then Minster for Education Assam and finally it was decided to set up an exclusive Commerce College under the name and style “Nalbari Commerce College, Nalbari” from the academic session of the same year. For this purpose the meeting constituted a preparatory Committee with Dr. Nriipendra Malla Buzar Baruah as President, Badan Ch. Talukdar, Surya Kr. Choudhury, Girindra Narayan Choudhury and Jnanendra Malla Buzar Baruah as Vice-Presidents, Sri Pramode Ch. Chakrabarty and Dr. Chandra Kanta Talukdar as Joint Secretaries along with a host of members from the locality. In this way after the compliance of necessary process for obtaining permission from Gauhati University, Guwahati--the affiliating authority, the college started its Pre-university classes on August 21, 1979 at the Nalbari Basic Training Centre, Nalbari with 51 numbers of students. It was heartening to note that as per request of the organizing body of the college late Trailokya Nath Goswami a prominent litterateur and former principal of Nalbari College adorned the Chair of the principal. The first batch of lecturers of the college were: Sri Ramen Baruah, Sri Nemichand Jain, Sri Ramesh Goswami, Sri Ajoy Ch. Baruah, Smt. Padma Medhi, Sri Dharamchand Jain, Sri Chiranjiv Jain (Part-time), Late Nripen Patowary (Part-time), Late Rabi Chandra Barman (Part_Time) and Sri Pramode Ch. Chakrabarty (Part-Time). As office staff late Mahendra Choudhury rendered his valuable services while Sri Bubaneswar Barman served as a Gr-IV employee of the Office of Nalbari Commerce College, Nalbari.   In the year 1984, when the B.Com. Part-I Classes were started after obtaining necessary permission etc. from Gauhati University, the organizing committee had made an arrangement to hold the classes in its own building constructed on the land donated by Dr. Nripendra Malla Buzar Baruah, the first President of the Governing Body where the college is functioning the present activities.


Powered By : elogo

Contents provided and maintained by Nalbari Commerce College
Copyright © 2014-15 Nalbari Commerce College . All Rights Reserved.
Last Update: 27 June 2016